SDF Convention: Candidates Begin Race To Succeed Late Fru Ndi

Oct 22, 2023

By Nformi Sonde Kinsai

The successors of the Social Democratic Front, SDF, National Chairman, late Ni John Fru Ndi, are now known.

The list of candidates to stand for elective positions into the party’s National Executive Committee, NEC, was published in Yaounde on October 17 by the SDF Secretary-General, Barrister Adeline Lord Djomgang. This was a couple of hours after a press conference she granted alongside the President of the Organising Committee of the 10th ordinary convention of the party, Mayor Njong Donatus.

The elective convention, with as much as 2,400 delegates expected from in and out of Cameroon, is billed for the Yaounde Multi-Purpose Sports Complex on October 27 and 28, 2023.

Going by the list of the aspiring NEC members, three contestants gunning for the National Chairmanship of the SDF party include Hon. Joshua Osih from the Littoral Region; Gordon Zama from the Southwest and Shewa Jestel from the Northwest.

For the position of the 1st National Vice President, Njong Donatus of the Northwest will battle it out with Mochiggle Vanigansen of the Centre Region and Haman Paul of the Adamawa; while Louis Marie Kakdeu from the West and Djeumeni Benilde from the Littoral will go in for the position of the 2nd National Vice President.

The 3rd, 4th and 5th National Vice Presidents, with no challengers, will respectively go to Fadimatou Epse Mohamadou of the Adamawa; Ware David of the Far North and Mbia Alain Roger of the Centre Region.

Those running as the National Treasurer and Assistant unchallenged are Langsi Abel of the Northwest and Kenfack Volvian Delor of the West Region. The National Financial Secretary and the Assistant who are standing unopposed are Tagne Ngeko Emmanuel of the West Region and Ngounou Jacob of the Littoral.

Meanwhile, the position of the National Secretary for Political Education and Training and the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Assistant National Secretaries for Political Education and Training shall be occupied by Muma Bih Yvonne of the Northwest; Ndifor Richard of the Southwest; Amougou Belinga of the South and Ipouha Patrice of the South in that order as they have no challengers.

For the position of the National Communication Secretary and the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th Assistant National Communication Secretaries, and who are not also having challengers shall be occupied by Kejang Henry of the Littoral; Ngwafor Grace of the Northwest; Djobongoué Jacques of the Far North; Abdouraman Bouba of the North and Alima Mbarga of the Centre Region. Garba Umaru of the Northwest and Chutedjem of the Adamawa will battle it for the position of the National Organising Secretary.

Other positions with candidates unchallenged include the National Secretary for Human and People’s rights and two Assistants; the National Socialist Women Coordinator and two Assistants; the National Socialist Youth Coordinator and two Assistants; the National Secretary for Bilingualism and Translation with four Assistants; the Auditor and 12 Legal Advisers.

At the press conference, Barrister Adeline Djomgang and Njong Donatus talked of how prepared the party is for the convention as well as other political parties in and out of Cameroon, civil society organisation leaders, personalities and well-wishers invited to the event.